The confused diabetic, cont’d

Uncategorized

You know you are in serious trouble when you’ve cried everyday for the past week.  It may not be great floods of salt, but more than enough to make the eyeballs sting.

When I get like this, it doesn’t take much for the slightest thing to make me feel volcanic.  This morning it was because the bus stop outside pathology had been shut because of roadworks.   I feel like I need to have a massive warning sign on my aura:  Wide berth necessary.  Emotional contamination alert.

I was already quite charged when I got to work and had to do my second test.  I’m doing more focused testing to fine tune food choices, and what I mean by that is trying to eliminate foods which give a post meal spike over 8. This is what the American Association of Endocrinology recommends.  Here’s the bad news.  Nothing I have eaten makes this standard.

But there’s worse….

I’ve been doing variations of the same meal because I wanted to isolate out the influence of certain foods.  Yesterday I started with a breakfast experiment.  I had eggs, half an avocado and two slices of Helga’s lower carb toast.  The spike was at two hours, and came in at 8.8.  Today I had the same minus the toast.  It spiked at one hour, and HIGHER!!!!!!!!  It was 9.3.

This goes against everything I have read about diabetes.  Summarised, that was if you avoid starchy carbs your numbers will be lower.

I think I’ll be spending a fair amount of time today in the toilets, mopping up tears of rage, confusion, grief and despair.

Leave a comment