Bouquet bothers

Uncategorized

I got my first order for a bouquet.  I spent all week looking forward to what I could do with a brief of purple, orange and yellow.  I had leanings towards ranunculus, but it’s planting time for them here, not cutting.  Eventually I got my overactive brain to shut up enough and accept that whatever I found on Saturday would be it.  Zen enough.

one of the disadvantages of where I live is that there is no flower market.  There is one grower at our local farmers market, and otherwise I am reduced to a small number of retail outlets, of varying quality and price. I don’t know what happened yesterday but the selection was awful.

I nabbed the dahlias and the pompom gerberas from the market.  After that it was scratching the bottom of the barrel.  I ended. Up with kale.  Not that I have anything against kale at all, but…the only other purple choice available was purple chryssies and I’m pretty sure this client is not a chryssie type.  So it all got mixed up with some spray carnations that are more pink than purple, gum, correa and rosemary foliage and a few sprigs of aster.

You can see the quality control inspector checking out the result above.  It’s ok, but I just wish that for my first order I’d been able to put hand on heart and say that I was genuinely happy with it.  The vase is what I did with the remainders and the bunch of spray roses I bought to cheer myself up over this failure.

Leave a Reply

